My Fro Fashion Week Experience

After a chance coverage of last weekend’s Fro Fashion Week, I have renewed respect for leaders in the industry as well as the beauty that women radiate when confident in their natural coils! The Second Annual Fro Fashion Week, held in Downtown Atlanta, is the ultimate celebration of natural hair, beauty and style!

First, let me be frank. Usually, I don’t post about hair care products, events, or even my natural hair journey. Not that I’m biased, but hair has never been my thing. Style, fashion, beauty, books, everything else but hair honestly. I’m generally ignorant and relatively unconcerned as a robust (or skimp) checking account can ensure someone will keep that wig smoked if you can’t (and looking good in Social Media pics is all that matters anymore anyway). However, when I rebuked the “creamy crack” (a topic for a future post/seperate site & channel) I began to pay more attention to the Natural Hair craze that has dominated Black hair care over the last 10 years.

Anywho, my Fro Fashion Week experience was wonderful! Saturday started with a private, intimate lunch with one of my favorite tweeters and blogging inspirations, @Afrobella (Patrice Yursik). Attendees ate strawberry salad, sipped and listened to Afrobella drop jewels of moral and brand-building wisdom. Everyone looked beautiful and was thrilled to meet Patrice in person- her light is so bright and warm. 🙂

@Afrobella Speaking to Bloggers

Several workshops and courses, where attendees could ask questions and get tips from stylists and brand ambassadors, were held throughout two days. Celebs from the natural hair world in attendance included Kim Coles, Patrice Yusirk (@Afrobella) and Felicia Leatherwood, celebrity stylist and natural hair guru.

I stopped by the following:

  • The Beautiful Textures “My Head. My hair. My choice.” lounge was jammed packed. I learned about their great new product line (lots of moisture) and stocked up my goodie bag.  For more info, visit: www.BeautifulTextures.comThanks to The Garner Circle for hosting the swank hang out.

    Patrice Yursik (@Afrobella), Felicia Leatherwood (@LovingYourHair) & Kim Coles x Vaughn Dabney

“Curls Unleashed” Organic Root Stimulator’s new line launching to enhance “natural curls” had a lovely suite and sample products.  I really enjoyed participating in their roundtable discussion with other natural hair beauties. We covered the many triumphs, and  natural hair struggles. Chiiiiillle…

  • Design Essentials had an amazing class where I learned how to stretch out my tightly coiled fro and the many new products their will unveil next month for natural hair beauties. Their instructors truly focused on hair education- knowing your texture and improving hair health. KU-DOS.

My Saturday was so full and fun! For more photos checkout my Facebook Fan Page! Thanks to Brainchild Associates, Lenora Bowler and my blogging buddies who made the day accessible and enjoyable. Check the website for more details, footage and photos from FroFashionWeek, the Sunday Fashion Show was amazeballs. Look forward to attending next year!

Peace,

Dawnavette

About Dawnavette

A Modern Renaissance Woman passionate about writing, women's issues, race relations, pop culture and music.

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Event Coverage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

